Which country is south of Sweden?

Which country is south of Sweden?

Land. Sweden lies to the southwest of Finland. A long coastline forms the country’s eastern border, extending along the Gulf of Bothnia and the Baltic Sea; a narrow strait, known as The Sound (Öresund), separates Sweden from Denmark in the south.

What country is across from Sweden?

Sweden is bordered by the Gulf of Bothnia and Baltic Sea, with Norway to the west and Finland to the east.

What is considered southern Sweden?

South Sweden is situated in the southern part of its country. It is close to Denmark and it borders with the riksområden of Småland and the islands and West Sweden. The most populous cities are Malmö, Helsingborg, Lund, Karlskrona, Kristianstad, Landskrona and Trelleborg.

Where is Sweden located in Europe?


What region is Sweden in?

Sweden is in the geographical region known as Scandinavia in northern Europe. Lush, large forests cover half of the country and over 100,000 lakes dot the landscape.

What is the relative location of Stockholm Sweden?

Sweden is a Northern European country located on the Scandinavian Peninsula. It is situated both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Sweden is bordered by 3 countries: by Finland in the east; by Norway in the north and west; by Denmark in the southwest (via a bridge-tunnel through Oresund Strait).

Is Sweden near Norway?

Norway is located on the western part of the Scandinavian Peninsula in North West Europe. It is bound by the Arctic Ocean to the north, Sweden, Finland and Russia to the east, the Norwegian Sea to the west and the Skagerrak Strait to the south….

Is Stockholm southern Sweden?

Stockholm is located on Sweden’s east coast, where the freshwater Lake Mälaren — Sweden’s third-largest lake — flows out into the Baltic Sea. The central parts of the city consist of fourteen islands that are continuous with the Stockholm archipelago.

How many states does Sweden have?

The provinces of Sweden (Swedish: Sveriges landskap) are historical, geographical and cultural regions. Sweden has 25 provinces; they have no administrative function, but remain historical legacies and a means of cultural identification as pertains, for example, to dialects and folklore.

What do countries border Sweden?

Sweden-Denmark Border. The Sweden-Denmark border was established back in 1658,and it is a maritime border which runs…

  • Finland-Sweden Border. This border is almost entirely located in two water bodies namely the Gulf of Bothnia and the…
  • Norway-Sweden Border. This border runs for about 1,010 miles on land. For both Norway and Sweden,…
  • What continent does Sweden belong to?

    Sweden is located in the northern region of the continent of Europe. Sweden is one of the three Scandinavian countries of Northern Europe. The Kingdom of Sweden is one of the Scandinavian countries situated in the northern region of Europe.

    Where is Sweden located geographically?

    Sweden is officially named the Kingdom of Sweden. It is a Scandinavian country located in Northern Europe and borders Norway to the north and west and Finland to the north eastern part.

    Is Sweden the largest European country?

    At 450,295 square kilometres (173,860 sq mi), Sweden is the largest country in Northern Europe , the third-largest country in the European Union, and the fifth largest country in Europe. The capital city is Stockholm.