Where was the first All-Ireland senior football final played?

Where was the first All-Ireland senior football final played?

In the early years of the GAA All-Ireland Finals were played at a variety of venues around the country. The first finals played at what is now Croke Park took place in March 1896 with Tipperary successful in both codes, beating Kilkenny in the All-Ireland Hurling Final and Meath in the All-Ireland Football Final.

Who won the All-Ireland in 1962?

Kerry won their twentieth All-Ireland title….1962 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.

All-Ireland Champions
Winning team Kerry (20th win)
Captain Seán Óg Sheehy
Provincial Champions
Munster Kerry

Who has won the most Leinster football finals?

Leinster Senior Football Championship

Leinster GAA Football Senior Championship
No. of teams 11
Title holders Dublin (60th title)
Most titles Dublin (60 titles)
Sponsors SuperValu, Eir, AIB

When was the first All Ireland Football Final 2021?

11 September 2021
The All-Ireland final was played on 11 September 2021 at Croke Park in Dublin, between Tyrone and Mayo, in what was their first ever meeting in a final. Tyrone won their 4th title after a 2–14 to 0–15 win against Mayo….2021 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.

Championship details
Player of the Year Kieran McGeary
← 2020 2022 →

When was the first All Ireland played?

It was the first of two All-Ireland football titles for Limerick – the other coming in 1896….1887 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final.

Event 1887 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship
Date 29 April 1888
Venue The Big Bank, Clonskeagh, Dublin
Referee John Cullinane (Tipperary)
1889 →

What’s the fastest goal scored in an All-Ireland final?

He was attributed with scoring the fastest goal ever in an All-Ireland SFC final – a fisted goal after 34 seconds against Roscommon, in what was the first live televised All-Ireland final in 1962.

What is the fastest goal in an All-Ireland football final?

Garry McMahon scored a goal for Kerry after 35 seconds and Kerry hit a point quickly after, and victory was never in doubt. McMahon’s goal was the fastest in All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final history until Garristown man Dean Rock scored for Dublin against mayo in the 2020 final.

In what year did Kildare last win a Leinster final?

Leinster Leader, Saturday 6th October 1928.

Who won the Leinster hurling final last year?


Leinster Senior Hurling Championship
Region Leinster (GAA)
Trophy Bob O’Keeffe Cup
No. of teams 6
Title holders Kilkenny (73rd title)

When was the first Leinster Senior Football Championship played?

Postponements, disqualifications, objections, withdrawals and walkovers were regular occurrences during the initial years of the championship. The inaugural Leinster final between Kilkenny and Wexford was played on Sunday 23 September 1888, with Kilkenny claiming a 1–04 to 0–02 victory.

Is the Leinster Football Championship a Tier 2 Championship?

As of the 2021 championship, qualification for the All-Ireland Championship will change due to the creation of a tier 2 championship known as the Tailteann Cup. The Leinster champions will continue to automatically qualify for the All-Ireland Super 8s.

What was average attendance for Leinster Football Championship?

For the 2018 championship, gate receipts fell by almost 30% to €1,879,326, compared to €2,634,837 the previous year. The average attendance for the entire series of games was just over 20,000, down from a peak of over 60,000 in 2002.

When was the last time Dublin won the Leinster Championship?

Leinster Senior Football Championship. It was unequalled by any other team, until Dublin won their own 6-in-a-row between 1974 and 1979. Dublin have won 8 Leinster championships in a row between 2011 – 2018.