What were the names of the French colonies?

What were the names of the French colonies?

The French colonial empire in the Americas comprised New France (including Canada and Louisiana), French West Indies (including Saint-Domingue, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Dominica, St. Lucia, Grenada, Tobago and other islands) and French Guiana.

What was the last French colony in Africa?

Djibouti is a very small country located on the horn of Africa. It is so small that it has an estimated population of less than a million, one of the least populous in Africa. France, which had colonized the country, had named it French Somaliland.

What is French Sudan called today?

the Republic of Mali
On 22 September, French Sudan changed its name to the Republic of Mali and left the French Community.

What is French West Africa called?

Upper Senegal and Niger was renamed the French Sudan in 1920. By 1960 the formerly colonial territories had become independent republics, with French Sudan changing its name to Mali. Upper Volta was renamed Burkina Faso in 1984.

Was Haiti a French colony?

Due to these shifts in policy and domestic concerns, the United States would not officially recognize Haitian independence until 1862. Prior to its independence, Haiti was a French colony known as St. Domingue.

What were the former French colonies in Africa?

Haiti was a former French colony. During the Colonial period in Africa, the British and the French colonized more than 95% of the continent.

What is list of former French colonies?


  • French protectorate of Cambodia
  • French Cameroon
  • Canada (New France)
  • French Chad
  • Charlesfort-Santa Elena Site
  • Chartered company
  • Colonialism in the Central African Republic
  • Colony of Niger
  • French Congo
  • Why did the British colonize Africa?

    There were many reasons for the colonization of Africa, including economic, political, and religious motives. Probably the most important was economic as a depression was occurring in Europe. Countries like Great Britain , France, Germany, Belgium, other powers were losing money, and Africa appeared to be a way out of the depression.

    What are the French territories in Africa?

    French West Africa (French: Afrique occidentale française, AOF) was a federation of eight French colonial territories in Africa: Mauritania, Senegal, French Sudan (now Mali), French Guinea, Ivory Coast, Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Dahomey (now Benin) and Niger.