What was the 4th state in the US?

What was the 4th state in the US?

Georgia votes to ratify the U.S. Constitution, becoming the fourth state in the modern United States.

What was the 4th state to join the union?

States Ranked by Date They Entered the Union

1 Delaware December 7, 1787
2 Pennsylvania December 12, 1787
3 New Jersey December 18, 1787
4 Georgia January 2, 1788

What state was admitted to the USA on January 4 1896 and what number state was it?

list of U.S. states’ dates of admission to the union

state date of admission
Utah January 4, 1896
Oklahoma November 16, 1907
New Mexico January 6, 1912
Arizona February 14, 1912

Is Utah the 45th state?

The Territory of Utah was an organized incorporated territory of the United States that existed from September 9, 1850, until January 4, 1896, when the final extent of the territory was admitted to the Union as the State of Utah, the 45th state.

How are new states admitted to the United States?

The main part of this article grants the U.S. Congress the right to admit new states. The process usually involves Congress passing an enabling act that authorizes a territory to convene a constitutional convention, draft a constitution, and formally apply for admission.

When did Georgia become the fifth state of the United States?

Georgia, one of the thirteen colonies, ratified the US Constitution on January 2, 1788, becoming the fourth state to do so; it joined the Confederacy on January 19, 1861, and re-entered the Union after the Civil War. Connecticut. Connecticut, one of the thirteen colonies, became the fifth state on January 9, 1788.

When was the last state added to the United States?

Five states were added during the 20th century. The last states to be added to the US were Alaska and Hawaii in 1959. The following table lists each state with the date it entered the union, and its status before they were states. States and Their Dates of Admission to the Union

How many new states were admitted to the United States in 1776?

Article IV, Section 3, Clause 1 of the Constitution grants to Congress the authority to admit new states into the Union. Since the establishment of the United States in 1776, the number of states has expanded from the original 13 to 50. Each new state has been admitted on an equal footing with the existing states.