What territory does Cuba belong to?

What territory does Cuba belong to?

After the Spanish–American War, Spain and the United States signed the Treaty of Paris (1898), by which Spain ceded Puerto Rico, the Philippines, and Guam to the United States for the sum of US$20 million and Cuba became a protectorate of the United States.

What is the island island that is a territory territory of the United States?

Currently, the United States has five major U.S. territories: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Each such territory is partially self-governing that exists under the authority of the U.S. government.

What is the island off Cuba?

Isla de la Juventud
Country Cuba
Capital Nueva Gerona
• Total 2,419 km2 (934 sq mi)

What are the 5 US territories?

As of August 2021, the United States controlled five unincorporated, organized, inhabited territories: Puerto Rico, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa.

Is Cuba part of West Indies?

Three major physiographic divisions constitute the West Indies: the Greater Antilles, comprising the islands of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), and Puerto Rico; the Lesser Antilles, including the Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Guadeloupe.

What island is east of Cuba?

Puerto Rico lies on the eastern end, and the island of Hispaniola is located in the middle. Jamaica lies to the south of Cuba, while the Cayman Islands are located to the west….List of countries and dependencies.

Name Puerto Rico (US)
Population (2017) 3,351,827
Population density (per km2) 430.2
Capital San Juan

Is St Croix a US territory?

Citizens do not required a passport for travel to and from the U.S. Virgin Islands since St. Croix is a U.S. territory. Croix is the largest of the three U.S. Virgin Islands, and includes the towns of Christiansted and Frederiksted.

Is Jamaica a U.S. territory?

Jamaica became independent from the United Kingdom in 1962 but remains a member of the Commonwealth.

What are the East Indies?

East Indies, the islands that extend in a wide belt along both sides of the Equator for more than 3,800 miles (6,100 km) between the Asian mainland to the north and west and Australia to the south. Historically, the term East Indies is loosely applied to any of three contexts.