What are the names of the western Caribbean islands?

What are the names of the western Caribbean islands?

Three major physiographic divisions constitute the West Indies: the Greater Antilles, comprising the islands of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), and Puerto Rico; the Lesser Antilles, including the Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Guadeloupe.

What is the West Indies called now?

Nowadays, the term West Indies is often interchangeable with the term Caribbean, although the latter may also include some Central and South American mainland countries which have Caribbean coastlines, such as Belize, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana, and the Atlantic island nations of Trinidad and Tobago and Bermuda …

Why are the islands called the West Indians?

The West Indies refers to a collection of islands in the Caribbean. These islands have nothing to do with India – they were named the West Indies because when Christopher Columbus arrived on the island of Hispanola (where the Dominican Republic and Haiti are), he thought that he was in India.

What is the largest West Indian island?

Cuba is the largest island in the West Indies.

What areas are Western Caribbean?

The Western Caribbean consists of islands due south of Florida, such as Grand Cayman and Jamaica; destinations on Mexico’s Caribbean coast on or near the Yucatan Peninsula, such as Costa Maya, Cozumel and Progreso; and Central American destinations on the Caribbean, such as Belize and Honduras.

What is the most western island in the Caribbean?

The Western Caribbean includes everything west of Haiti and the Dominican Republic, which is also known as the island of Hispaniola, plus the coastal nations of the Caribbean….Western Caribbean Islands.

Cayman Islands Haiti
Cuba Jamaica
Dominican Republic

Is St Thomas Eastern or Western Caribbean?

Meanwhile, Eastern Caribbean voyages frequently feature San Juan, Grand Turk and the Dominican Republic, as well as the Lesser Antilles. That region includes the U.S. Virgin Islands (St. Thomas), British Virgin Islands (Tortola), St. Kitts, Nevis, Antigua, St.

Why are the carribbean island called the West Indies?

The Caribbean islands are also known as the ‘West Indies’. That’s because when Columbus set out to reach Asia (the Indies) by sailing west, he thought that he’d found the East Indies when he stumbled upon some islands. These islands were called the ‘Indies’ and Columbus called their inhabitants ‘Indians’.

What islands are in the western Caribbean?

The islands of the western Caribbean include: The Bahamas (Guide | Map | Weather) Cozumel (Mexico) Cuba (Greater Antilles) Cayman Islands (Weather) Dominican Republic (Weather) Florida Keys (USA) Hispanola (Dominican Republic and Haiti) (Greater Antilles)

What are the names of all the islands in the Caribbean Sea?

Jamaica. Start on the Jamaican north shore,where powdery white sands run their way along the coast from the ivory stretches of iconic Seven Mile Beach,past the sheer-cut

  • Turks and Caicos. If it’s beaches you’re after (and let’s face it,what traveler to the Caribbean isn’t?),then Turks and Caicos is perhaps the perfect spot.
  • St.
  • Cuba.
  • What are all the islands of the Caribbean called?

    Other terms you’ll hear used when describing locations in the Caribbean include the Greater Antilles, the Lesser Antilles, the Windward Islands, and the Leeward Islands. The World Atlas also has a useful Caribbean map, and of course, Google Maps and Google Earth are excellent resources for travelers, too.