In what countries is Serbian spoken?

In what countries is Serbian spoken?

Serbian is the official language of the Republic of Serbia, and it is also spoken by minorities living in other countries such as Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Montenegro. Along with Bosnian, Croatian, Slovene, and Montenegrin, Serbian belongs to the western group of the South Slavic Languages.

How many countries in the world speak Serbian?

Serbian is the official language in Serbia and Kosovo and is spoken in 7 more countries as monther tongue by a part of the population….Serbian speaking countries.

Country Kosovo
Region Southern Europe
Official language yes
Distribution 1.6 %
Total 28,000

Is Serbian the same as Russian?

According to censuses, there were 3,247 ethnic Russians living in Serbia (2011) and 3,510 Serbs with Russian citizenship (2010). Russia and Serbia are both predominantly Slavic and Eastern Orthodox countries, which share a strong mutual cultural affinity.

How many Serbian languages are there?

Serbia has only one nationwide official language, which is Serbian. Other languages spoken in Serbia include Hungarian, Romanian, Slovak, Rusyn, Croatian (all of which are official regional languages in the Vojvodina province), Bosnian, Romani, Albanian, Vlach, Bulgarian, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Bunjevac, etc.

Is Russian spoken in Serbia?

But no, Serbians don’t speak Russian and Russian is not the official language of Serbia. It is Serbian, a Slavic language that is very close to Russian and other Slavic languages, but they are not the same.

What is the main religion of Serbia?

Currently, according to the Census in Serbia, in regard to religious affiliation, there are 84.6% Orthodox Christians, 5% Catholics, 3.1% Muslims, 1.1% atheists, 1% Protestants, 3.1% do not declare themselves confessionally, and about 2% other confessions.

What kind of language do people in Serbia speak?

Serbian (српски / srpski, pronounced [sr̩̂pskiː]) is the standardized variety of the Serbo-Croatian language mainly used by Serbs.

Is the Serbian language the official language of Montenegro?

It is the official and national language of Serbia, one of the three official languages of Bosnia and Herzegovina and co-official in Montenegro and Kosovo. It is a recognized minority language in Croatia, North Macedonia, Romania, Hungary, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic.

Is there a single grammatical system for Serbian?

Serbian is a standardized variety of Serbo-Croatian, a Slavic language ( Indo-European ), of the South Slavic subgroup. Other standardized forms of Serbo-Croatian are Bosnian, Croatian, and Montenegrin. “An examination of all the major ‘levels’ of language shows that BCS is clearly a single language with a single grammatical system.”

Which is the ISO code for the Serbian language?

Board for Standardization of the Serbian Language: Language codes; ISO 639-1: ISO 639-2: ISO 639-3: srp: Glottolog: serb1264: Linguasphere: part of 53-AAA-g