Why are there 13 stars on the EU flag?

Why are there 13 stars on the EU flag?

The flag has 12 stars because the number twelve is the symbol of completeness and unity. In various traditions, twelve is a symbolic number representing perfection. The circle is a symbol of unity. So it was decided to put 12 stars in a circle on the European flag, representing unity among the peoples of Europe.

How many stars are there in the EU?

It features a circle of 12 gold stars on a blue background. They stand for the ideals of unity, solidarity and harmony among the peoples of Europe. The number of stars has nothing to do with the number of member countries, though the circle is a symbol of unity.

What two colors are on the flag of the European Union?

The two colors in the flag of Europe – Gold and Navy – are officially dictated by the PMS system. The colors displayed above in hexadecimal (and RGB) are closest to the PANTONE system. In CMYK the yellow and blue are (100, 67, 0, 40) and (0, 20, 100, 0), respectively.

What Colour Blue is the EU flag?

Reflex Blue

Azure Gold
Pantone Reflex Blue Yellow
RGB #003399 #FFCC00

How many official languages are there in the EU?

24 EU official languages
There are 24 EU official languages. Supporting communications in so many languages means that citizens can access and better understand the EU laws that affect them.

What is the EU motto?

The European Union motto. The motto of the Union is ‘united in diversity’. Like the other symbols, the motto clearly highlights the sense of European identity that is the birthright of every citizen of the Union, over and above the actual European Union.

Which city is not in Europe?

Guanajuato, Mexico Many claim that Guanajuato, a World Heritage Site, is the most European feeling city outside of Europe. Anywhere!

How many members are in the Eurozone?

Member countries using the euro Currently, the euro (€) is the official currency of 19 out of 27 EU member countries which together constitute the Eurozone, officially called the euro area.

What do the 12 stars on the EU flag mean?

The European Union (EU) flag comprises 12 golden stars on a blue background. Officially it is claimed that the circle of 12 stars represents ‘solidarity and harmony between the peoples of Europe’, the number 12 denoting ‘perfection, completeness and unity’ (in the Bible, 12 denotes ‘governmental perfection’).

What are the colors of the European flag?

The Flag of Europe or European Flag, is an official symbol adopted by two separate organisations, the Council of Europe (CoE) as a symbol for the whole of Europe, and the European Union (EU). It consists of a circle of twelve five-pointed yellow (or) stars on a blue (azure) field. The design was conceived in 1955,…

What countries are in the European Union?

European Union: Countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

What is the flag of the European Union?

Flag of European Union. Adopted on December 8, 1955, the flag of European Union (EU) consists of a circle of 12 five pointed golden stars on an azure background. European Union is an international organization based in Brussels .