Who was Australia longest prime minister?

Who was Australia longest prime minister?

The longest-serving prime minister was Sir Robert Menzies, who served in office twice: from 26 April 1939 to 28 August 1941, and again from 19 December 1949 to 26 January 1966. In total Robert Menzies spent 18 years, 5 months and 12 days in office.

Who was our longest serving prime minister?

The prime minister with the longest single term was Sir Robert Walpole, lasting 20 years and 315 days from 3 April 1721 until 11 February 1742. This is also longer than the accumulated terms of any other prime minister. The shortest period in office is more confused, depending on the criteria.

How long did Sir Robert Menzies serve as prime minister?

Sir Robert Gordon Menzies, KT, AK, CH, QC, FAA, FRS (/ˈmɛnziːz/; 20 December 1894 – 15 May 1978), was an Australian politician who served as the 12th prime minister of Australia, in office from 1939 to 1941 and again from 1949 to 1966.

Who is the second longest serving prime minister?


No. Name Length of term
Longest continuous term
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 17 years, 286 days
2 Indira Gandhi 11 years, 59 days
3 Manmohan Singh 10 years, 4 days

What big changes did John Howard make while he was prime minister?

Howard’s actions as prime minister included implementing new gun laws (in response to the Port Arthur massacre), the introduction of a nationwide value-added tax, immigration reform, and industrial relations reform.

Who has been prime minister of Australia 3 times?

Robert Menzies and Kevin Rudd served two non-consecutive terms in office while Alfred Deakin and Andrew Fisher served three non-consecutive terms; the 30th and current prime minister is Scott Morrison (since 24 August 2018). There are currently six living former prime ministers.

Who are the Prime Ministers of Australia since 1901?

Terms of Australian Prime Ministers Since 1901. This table shows all of Australia’s 30 prime ministers by the length of their time in office. Four prime ministers have served non-consecutive terms of office: Deakin (3), Fisher (3), Menzies (2) and Rudd (2). They are ordered by their total time as prime minister.

Who was the shortest serving Prime Minister of Australia?

The shortest-serving prime minister was Frank Forde, who was appointed to the position on 6 July 1945 after the death of John Curtin, and served until 13 July 1945 when Ben Chifley was elected leader of the Australian Labor Party.

Who was the last Prime Minister to die in office?

Three Prime Ministers have died in office – Joseph Lyons (1939), John Curtin (1945) and Harold Holt (1967). In each of these cases, the Deputy Prime Minister (an unofficial office at the time) became an interim Prime Minister, pending an election of a new leader of the government party.

What are the privileges of being Prime Minister of Australia?

Politicians, including Prime Ministers, are usually granted certain privileges after leaving office, such as office accommodation, staff assistance, and a Life Gold Pass, which entitles the holder to travel within Australia for “non-commercial” purposes at government expense.