Which group controls the West Bank?

Which group controls the West Bank?

The Palestinian Authority currently administers some 39% of the West Bank. 61% of the West Bank remains under direct Israeli military and civilian control. East Jerusalem was unilaterally annexed by Israel in 1980, prior to the formation of the PA. Since 2007 Gaza has been governed by the Hamas Government in Gaza.

Why do Israelis want the West Bank?

Israel has cited several reasons for retaining the West Bank within its ambit: a claim based on the notion of historic rights to this as a homeland as affirmed in the Balfour Declaration; security grounds, internal and external; and the deep symbolic value for Jews of the area occupied.

Who claims the West Bank?

Presently, most of the West Bank is administered by Israel though 42% of it is under varying degrees of autonomous rule by the Fatah-run Palestinian Authority. The Gaza Strip is currently under the control of Hamas.

What is the difference between Gaza and the West Bank?

West Bank & Gaza Strip The West Bank is located to the west of the Jordan River. It is a landlocked territory, bordered by Jordan to the east and Israel to the south, west and north. The Gaza Strip, on the other hand, is a small boot-shaped territory along the Mediterranean coast between Egypt and Israel.

When did the west bank become an occupied territory?

Since 1979 the United Nations Security Council, the United Nations General Assembly, the United States, the EU, the International Court of Justice, and the International Committee of the Red Cross refer to the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, as occupied Palestinian territory or the occupied territories.

How much of the West Bank is under Israeli control?

11% of the West Bank (known as Area A) which remains subject to Israeli incursions. Area B (approx. 28%) is subject to joint Israeli-Palestinian military and Palestinian civil control. Area C (approx. 61%) is under full Israeli control.

What are the names of the regions in the West Bank?

Palestinian governorates. The West Bank is further divided into 8 administrative regions: Menashe ( Jenin area), HaBik’a ( Jordan Valley ), Shomron ( Shechem area, known in Arabic as Nablus ), Efrayim ( Tulkarm area), Binyamin ( Ramallah / al-Bireh area), Maccabim ( Maccabim area), Etzion ( Bethlehem area) and Yehuda ( Hebron area).

How many Jews live in the West Bank?

The West Bank (excluding East Jerusalem) is also home to some 430,000 Israeli Jews who live in 132 settlements (and 124 smaller “outposts”) built under Israel’s occupation.