What is the meaning of the Southern Hemisphere?

What is the meaning of the Southern Hemisphere?

Definition of southern hemisphere : the part of the earth that lies south of the equator.

What are 3 countries in the Southern Hemisphere?

Entirely in Southern Hemisphere:

  • Argentina.
  • Bolivia.
  • Chile.
  • Paraguay.
  • Peru.
  • Uruguay.

Where does sun rise in Australia?

the east
Where does the sun rise in Australia? The sun always rises in the east, everywhere and regardless of the country or continent. The easternmost city in Australia is Byron Bay in the state of New South Wales. There, the sun rises at 5:39 am and sets at 7:25 pm these days.

What is the longest day of the year called?

Summer solstice
Summer solstice (June 20 or 21): longest day of the year, marking the start of summer.

What countries are in the southern hemisphere?

The southern temperate zone, a subsection of the Southern Hemisphere, is nearly all oceanic. This zone includes the southern tip of Uruguay and South Africa; the southern half of Chile and Argentina; parts of Australia, going south from Adelaide, and all of New Zealand.

What is the difference between northern and Southern Hemisphere?

Geographical Differences. The Northern Hemisphere refers to the half of the planet that is north of the equator, while the Southern Hemisphere is all of the planet south of the equator.

What cities are in the southern hemisphere?

The major cities in the Southern Hemisphere are Nairobi, Lima, Kinshasa, Buenos Aires, Sao Paulo, Jakarta, Antananarivo, etc.

What are all the continents in the southern hemisphere?

The Southern Hemisphere contains all or parts of four continents (Antarctica, Australia, most parts of South America and southern half of Africa), four oceans ( South Atlantic , Indian, South Pacific , and Southern) and most of Oceania .