What countries are in the Scandinavian Peninsula?

What countries are in the Scandinavian Peninsula?

Scandinavia, historically Scandia, part of northern Europe, generally held to consist of the two countries of the Scandinavian Peninsula, Norway and Sweden, with the addition of Denmark.

Where is Scandinavian peninsula on the map?

The name of the peninsula is derived from the term Scandinavia, the cultural region of Denmark, Norway and Sweden….Scandinavian Peninsula.

Scandinavian Peninsula in winter 2003
Location Northern Europe
Coordinates 63°00′N 14°00′ECoordinates: 63°00′N 14°00′E
Adjacent bodies of water Arctic Sea, Atlantic Ocean

Is Finland in the Scandinavian Peninsula?

In English usage, Scandinavia can refer to Denmark, Norway, and Sweden, sometimes more narrowly to the Scandinavian Peninsula, or more broadly to include the Åland Islands, the Faroe Islands, Finland, and Iceland.

Is Iceland part of the Scandinavian Peninsula?

Scandinavian Geography Greenland, which is a Danish territory, and the Faroe Islands, which is a self-governing part of Denmark, are also included in the list. Finland and Iceland are not considered part of Scandinavia geographically.

Are Scandinavians Vikings?

The Vikings were diverse Scandinavian seafarers from Norway, Sweden, and Denmark whose raids and subsequent settlements significantly impacted the cultures of Europe and were felt as far as the Mediterranean regions c. The Vikings were all Scandinavian but not all Scandinavians were Vikings.

Was Norway part of Sweden?

In 1814, after being on the losing side of the Napoleonic Wars with Denmark, Norway was ceded to the king of Sweden by the Treaty of Kiel. Norway declared its independence and adopted a constitution.

What color eyes did the Vikings have?

It turns out most Vikings weren’t as fair-haired and blue-eyed as legend and pop culture have led people to believe. According to a new study on the DNA of over 400 Viking remains, most Vikings had dark hair and dark eyes. (Sorry, Chris Hemsworth and Travis Fimmel.)