How many areas are there in the US?

How many areas are there in the US?

A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest.

What is the largest area in the US?

Alaska has the largest land area in the United States followed by Texas and California.

United States 3,796,742.23
Rank State Sq. Miles
1 Alaska 665,384.0
2 Texas 268,596.5
3 California 163,694.7

What are the 10 regions of the US?

The 10 Federal Regions [FEMA] REGION I: Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont. REGION II: New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, Virgin Island . REGION III: Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia. REGION IV: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee.

Which region of the US is the largest in area?

The West. Western United States (also known as the Far West, American West, or simply the West), is the largest region of the country by land area and is comprised of 13 states.

Which region of the US is least populated?

The least-populated place in the United States is Alaska’s Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area. At over 145,000 square miles, it’s larger than New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia — combined.

What is the area of the US in square km?

Located in the Western Hemisphere on the continent of North America, the United States is the fourth-largest country in the world. Its total area, including Alaska and Hawaii, is 9,629,091 sq km (3,717,813 sq mi). The conterminous United States extends 4,662 km (2,897 mi) ENE — WSW and 4,583 km (2,848 mi) SSE – NNW .