Table of Contents
- 1 How do you transport a dead person across state lines?
- 2 How do you transfer a dead body on a plane?
- 3 How much does it cost to transport a corpse?
- 4 Can you transport human ashes across state lines?
- 5 Can a dead body be taken in flight?
- 6 How much does it cost to transport a dead body by plane?
- 7 What states require embalming?
- 8 Can we carry dead body in flight?
- 9 Why do death arrangements have to cross state lines?
- 10 What are the laws on transporting deceased bodies?
How do you transport a dead person across state lines?
The funeral home in your destination state will contact your local funeral home and coordinate to prepare your loved one for transport. In most cases, your local funeral home is required to embalm your loved one for burial before transport within 48 hours following a death.
How do you transfer a dead body on a plane?
Documents required for Domestic transfer of Human Remains:
- Death certificate from a recognised hospital (Post-mortem receipt in case of unnatural death)
- No Objection Certificate from the local police station.
- ID proof of the deceased person.
- Embalming certificate.
- Coffin maker certificate or undertaker certificate.
Can you transport a deceased person yourself?
You can transport the body yourself if you wish Alternatively, you can request that a funeral director uses another vehicle such as an estate car or van, most companies will be able to do this at a much reduced cost.
How much does it cost to transport a corpse?
Average Cost of Transporting Remains The cost to ship cremated remains internationally will be about $300, while the cost to ship a person’s body can be $10,000-$20,000, says International Insurance. It’s important to note that all costs are the responsibility of the family.
Can you transport human ashes across state lines?
It is easy enough to travel cross-country with ashes in a car—there are no specific regulations regarding transporting ashes across state lines by car. Or, the funeral home can provide you with a burial transit permit if you wish to have that with you, as well.
How do you get a body from one state to another?
To transport a deceased person to another state, you should first choose a reliable funeral director in the state you are returning your loved one to. The funeral director will register the death and prepare the paperwork and details regarding the repatriation.
Can a dead body be taken in flight?
How do you bring a dead body on a plane? To transport the deceased via air, one may have to book air cargo tickets along with embalming and coffin box services. The documentation and clearance work is quite complex, and hence it is advised to take the services of funeral providers such as Last Journey.
How much does it cost to transport a dead body by plane?
The cheapest way to move a dead body is to drive it. Funeral homes typically charge by the mile for distances that exceed 25 miles. If you want to move the body yourself be sure to check on the regulations in the state you are moving the body in. A funeral home can help answer any questions you might have.
Is it legal to transport an embalmed body?
In California, a body must be embalmed if it is to be transported by a common carrier (California Health & Safety Code § 7355 (2018)), but the Funeral Consumers Alliance makes a good argument that this law is both unenforced and unenforceable. The website of the National Home Funeral Alliance is a good place to start.
What states require embalming?
Embalming is mandated when a body crosses state lines from Alabama and Alaska. Five other states—California, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota and New Jersey—require embalming when the body leaves those states by common carrier (airplane or train).
Can we carry dead body in flight?
How to transport a dead person across state lines?
Ask the funeral home how the body must be prepared for transport if you wish to move the deceased across state lines yourself, without the aid of the funeral home. (Any private large enough to carry the shipping container will do.) Inquire if embalming is required and what documentation is necessary.
Why do death arrangements have to cross state lines?
Death arrangements must sometimes cross state lines because of our on-the-move culture. Costs can vary, depending on whether the body is cremated or not and if there will be a funeral service at the destination mortuary.
What are the laws on transporting deceased bodies?
Here are the most common state requirements or state laws on transporting deceased bodies you need to watch out for. Embalming laws can vary widely per state. Most states require deceased bodies to be embalmed before they are transported. Others require that they are embalmed before they are allowed entry into the state.
Can a body be transported out of State?
Yes, you can use your own car to transport a body for out-of-state burials. But that doesn’t mean you won’t have to follow state laws on transporting bodies for burials. First off, you need to secure burial transit permits. This is a personal record of the deceased’s personal information, where the person died and cause of death.