Table of Contents
- 1 Are out of bounds stakes movable obstructions?
- 2 Can you move a stake in golf?
- 3 Can you remove white stakes?
- 4 Can you stand out of bounds to hit a golf ball?
- 5 Can you hit out of red stakes?
- 6 When do you stand out of bounds in golf?
- 7 What makes a ball out of bounds on a golf course?
- 8 Can a player replace an OB stake in golf?
Are out of bounds stakes movable obstructions?
Objects, such as stakes, which are used to define out of bounds, are not obstructions and are deemed to be fixed. Improving the position of a ball by moving anything fixed is prohibited and considered improving ones lie, or improving the intended stance or swing or line of play.
Can you move a stake in golf?
Yes. A penalty area stake is a movable obstruction and you may move them if you want (see Rule 15.2a). However, while rare, some penalty area stakes cannot be moved (for example, when the course has set the stake into a concrete base).
Do you get relief from an out of bounds stake?
Q. I have interference from an out of bounds fence, stake or wall – what are my options? A. You do not get free relief from objects that define or mark the course boundary.
Can you remove white stakes?
You are not allowed to remove the white stake, since you would thereby improve a “forbidden area.” Your ball ends three feet from a white stake, perpendicular to the course (compared to the direction to the hole). There is no penalty to remove the white stake, as it is not in a forbidden area.
Can you stand out of bounds to hit a golf ball?
A player can stand out of bounds to hit a ball that is still in bounds, but cannot move the stake if it is in the way. A ball is OB only if the entire ball is OB.
What happens if I hit my golf ball out of bounds?
If a player hits a ball out of bounds or loses a ball, the general rules still require the player to return to the spot of the previous stroke and take a one-stroke penalty – a standard stroke-and-distance scenario. It’s the same scenario for a lost ball.
Can you hit out of red stakes?
No matter the choice a golfer makes to take relief from a red-stake lateral water hazard, the golfer can lift and clean their ball out of the hazard (assuming they find it) or can put a new golf ball into play to replace the ball which went in the hazard.
When do you stand out of bounds in golf?
1) You may stand out of bounds to play a ball that is lying in bounds. 2) The out of bounds line extends vertically upwards, so if your ball is lodged in a tree on the boundary, you will have to make your judgment on that basis.
Is there a penalty for removing out of bounds stakes?
Many people think that the removal of out of bounds stakes is synonymous with incurring an automatic penalty. This is not so and there are occasions – I.e where 13-2 is not breached and the removal of the posts would not attract a penalty.
What makes a ball out of bounds on a golf course?
When a line on the ground is used, the line itself is out of bounds. However, a ball is deemed in bounds still even if only a small part of it lies on the course side of the boundary line. If white stakes are used at intervals, the out of bounds line is the direct line from one stake to the next.
Can a player replace an OB stake in golf?
As an aside the new recently announced rules allows the player to replace the OB stake and avoid penalty – which is not our current rules position. There is no penalty if, before making the next stroke, the player eliminates that improvement by restoring the original conditions in the ways allowed in (1) and (2) below.